Saturday, September 1, 2012 at 7:30pm
MYSO's steel drum band, Calypso, on the riverfront from 6:30pm-7:15pm
Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, Vogel Hall
929 N. Water St., Milwaukee

Subscribe & Save!

This performance is not recommended for young children.


Blush, by Anna Clyne

fits + starts, by Anna Clyne

Change, by Judd Greenstein

Tria ex uno, by Georg Friedrich Haas


Preview Concert Program


Present Music, Milwaukee’s cutting edge contemporary music ensemble, kicks off its season with Change. This concert will present the progression of contemporary music, provide insight into the next wave of modern composers, and set the stage for Present Music’s entire 2012-13 season.

Present Music is known for forging the path for new music to thrive in Milwaukee and this concert will be no different. The selected works will explore how music has changed; how the new rises from the old; and the serious becomes the cool. Present Music will perform works by Steve Reich, Georg Friedrich Haas, Anna Clyne and Judd Greenstein.

Works by Reich, Haas and Clyne, three composers familiar to the Present Music audience, were chosen to illustrate not only their enormous diversity in contemporary music, but also to showcase how contemporary composers use different techniques to evolve the course of new music.

“The music I chose for this concert relates to the changing faces of new classical music in a variety of ways, which includes the use of rock instruments like a drum set, electric guitar and electric bass, atmospheric electronics, grooving changing meters and microtonality. Haas’ Tria ex uno makes change literal by transforming a piece that is hundreds of years old into something brand new.” ~Kevin Stalheim, Artistic Director

Read Concert Reviews

Tom Strini of ThirdCoast Digest Reviews Change Concert
Review in Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, by Elaine Schmidt

Thank you to our sponsors and community partners!

Aaron Copland Fund for Music, Inc.